Kaleville

Nerd alert: aside from my children, my greatest joy at this very moment is…school! It’s true- I am in raptures over each and every class. The biggest surprise to me was discovering that I am enjoying News Reporting and Writing. I had no idea that there was so much to news writing, from the arrangement of your words to the number of sentences per paragraph. There’s an entire formula dedicated to a story’s organization of information. Fascinating! Did I say nerd alert?

In Creative Writing we were instructed to write a discussion post about “why we write.” Driving home from M.’s this evening, I  turned this question over in my mind. When I was a child, I was a big Winnie the Pooh fan, and my favorite episode was “Find her, Keep Her” from the Newfound Friends series. I still have the ancient, weathered VHS tape. The episode follows Rabbit and the relationship he builds with a little bird he rescues. At one point during the episode, the bird says to Rabbit, “But Rabby, I just have to fly. It means everything to me.” This is the best way I can find to explain why I write. When I suppress the urge, sooner or later it will claw its way out of me and leave me in shreds- it is that powerful.

I’ve been battling a raging sweet tooth lately, and am trying to curb it by consuming healthy alternatives to my favorite sweet treats. Juice that tastes like candy but is actually loaded with fruits and veggies? check. Zucchini bread oatmeal? check. Banana soft-serve with raw cacao powder? check and check. I am trying to incorporate one green food into each of my meals. Dinner tonight was a success, with creamy avocado-basil pasta sauce. Next stop: kaleville!

Leave a Reply

