Ready, set, Juice!

Tomorrow begins my week-long juice fast! I am actually aiming for two two-week fasts, interrupted by Jack’s birthday, but we’ll see how that goes. I’m trying to keep the pressure off, so right now I’m only committing myself to seven days. I am actually pretty excited- I know it’s going to be tough, and I am going to have to seriously tap into my stores of will power, but I also know that by the end I will look and feel much better. I already lead an incredibly healthy lifestyle, but when I adopted those habits I never did a detox to rid my body of any residual toxins. The time has come, and I can’t wait to see and feel the results.

This past week was all about decreasing my intake of anything processed- mainly flours, sugars and oils. I also upped my juice intake to get myself used to consuming more liquids. This was a great opportunity to test out new juicer recipes- blackberry + grape + ginger + apple is definitely a favorite, but this week the focus really needs to be on the veggies. Too much fruit juice can lead to insulin spikes and harsh cravings, which is obviously the opposite of what I want. It’s all about treating my body well.

Lately I have been thinking a lot about my physical self- mostly, that I feel detached from it…in agood way. The more I make healthy changes in my life, the more I feel that my body is just a temporary vessel. I do not believe that when its time is over, that I too will perish. I do, however, want to keep it around as long as possible. It does so many wonderful things for me every day! I move from place to place. I dance. I sing. I laugh. I see. I eat. These are all experiences afforded to me by my body, and I want to treat it well in return. Hence, the juice fast! Honestly- it’s not as bad as it sounds. I LOVE juicing.

Also exciting: I finally planned Jack’s birthday party! Next step is figuring out menu and decorations. I get so anxious with parties- I always imagine that no one will show up, and I don’t know why I’m so afraid of that. If no one else, it’s pretty much guaranteed that M. would be there, and would it be the worst thing if it were just her and me and the kids? In essence, the worst-case scenario is still a major win….so calm down, self.

Oh, Jack is going to LOVE having a party. I can’t wait to see him in the thick of it.

Leave a Reply

