Day Three.

Day three! Today presented some unique challenges. I was out of the house for the majority of the time, first for three hours painting and chatting at Renee’s, and then off to class in the evening for a killer five hours. I did have a few mugs of tea with Renee, but I didn’t have time to juice before heading off to class so I had to go without. Honestly, I thought it would be worse than it was- I think my stomach has seriously reduced its capacity, because I didn’t feel hungry. I also find that I feel satisfied from less juice as time goes on. During the first day, I pretty much hung around in the kitchen either prepping, juicing or cleaning. I must have drank a few gallons of juice- just to keep myself occupied and feeling full! Today was much different. I only juiced four times, each time producing about a liter of juice- spot on for my target quantity!

I have noticed that I am sleeping really well. Even though I’m not getting as much sleep as is recommended (it inevitably comes with the territory of parenting), the sleep I am getting is deep and restful. I also noticed that it is easier to wake up in the morning. I don’t have that typical lead-limbed drag, fighting to open my eyes and finding that I can’t quite sort out one thought from another. Instead, I wake up and I am ready.

My intention is to continue for the full 30 days. I initially committed myself to seven, because I wasn’t sure how I would be feeling and I didn’t want to say 30 and feel like I’d failed if I only made it a week. However, at the close of day three, I have to say I am loving this experience, and I can see myself hacking it out for the full month (with a one day hiatus for Jack’s birthday). My only complaint is that I haven’t been able to run very much, because excessive exercise isn’t recommended during a fast- you can overwork your body and it will leave you feeling completely drained. Tomorrow I am planning on taking the kids up to Lake Galena in the afternoon. There is a six-mile trail that runs along the perimeter, and I think it will be a perfect opportunity to sneak in a little physical activity while getting the kids out of the house and into nature. Something about fasting makes me want to be outside in fresh air with plenty of trees.

This fast is becoming a spiritual experience. It has stimulated a lot of thinking- questions, realizations, etc. I also find that I am so proud of myself as each day passes and I’ve stuck to my plans. I am impressed with my will power and commitment. Right now I am doing so many things that I thought I would never be capable of- I just had to get out of my own way. I was so afraid to fail, so I never tried…with school, with my health, with running, even with parenting: it’s challenging to stick to your beliefs without having proper confidence in them. I finally found that strength inside of myself, and what a blessing it has been. My entire life has turned inside-out and upside-down in the past year, and I think that I can say with certainty that it has been the most invigorating experience of my life.

I feel like I am trulyliving.

 

Leave a Reply

