Day Seven.

Can it be? One week?! Today was originally my stopping point, but here I am ready to push through another seven days. I wholly underestimated myself.

Today was tough. For some reason I just felt like snacking- particularly now, sitting in my bedroom typing this entry. Prior to this fast, it was habit to simultaneously snack and work on the computer. Usually it was a bowl of fruit or a square of chocolate- nothing devastating, but it was mindless eating. One of my goals through this fast is to shine a different light on food and eating. I want eating to be a conscious activity- fun and delicious anddeliberate. I want to have to think about it. I don’t want to automatically shovel food into my mouth because I feel like chewing on something- that is not the attitude I desire to have toward food.

I have definitely gotten into a firm routine, narrowing my list of preferred juices down to just a handful. I made sure to include a wide variety of veggies and fruits to make sure that I am maximizing my nutritional intake, while at the same time enjoying this process and producing juices that taste good. My favorite by far is carrot-apple-ginger-beet, but I’ve been reserving this exclusively for mornings because it is higher in sugar than the others.

Fighting off the urge to eat is so tough. It never really goes away, but I have learned to shoulder it. I remind myself that this isn’t forever- that at some point I’ll be back to eating sold foods and that will be the time to indulge. Right now is the time for juice. Mostly I’m aching for Jules pizza, which would be a great treat to myself a few days post-fast.

This morning I registered for two Rock ‘n’ Roll races- the Philly 1/2 marathon and the NY 10k. I am going to give them my best shot- I’ve heard that they’re a lot of fun, and great options for runners jumping into the longer-distance racing scene. I’m enjoying running, but it’s the community that really keeps me going. It makes a world of difference when you have a community of people who are passionate about the same things that you are. Sharing that level of interest is so special, and definitely plays a huge role in motivating me to keep going even when things seem insurmountable.

The biggest challenge I faced today actually had nothing to do with my juice fast and everything to do with my regular food choices. Recently, my values were challenged in a big way. I turned this over and over in my mind- how to balance staying true to the values I hold and coexisting in the world simultaneously? Ultimately I came to the following conclusion: our values dictate how we as individuals function in the world; if I didn’t hold to them, then they wouldn’t really be values, just whims that I followed whenever it was convenient. At this point in my life, I am fortunate enough to stand on firmer soil when it comes to my identity- I have been around the track, packed in some decent experience under my belt, and reaped important lessons from some hulking mistakes. Through all of this, I have been able to get a solid idea of who I am, and consequently what I want from this life. I am also much firmer in my beliefs, fueled by both a strengthened identity and an impassioned pursuit of knowledge. All of this culminates into iron courage of my conviction. I can’t change other people, nor do I have any interest in wasting my time trying. I can, however, make my own choices based on my value set, and have both the intellect to defend them and the fortitude to hold to them.

“Don’t let your special character and values, the secret that you know and no one else does, the truth – don’t let that get swallowed up by the great chewing complacency.” – Aesop.

Looking forward to tomorrow, the upcoming week, and all that lies beyond.

Leave a Reply

