Day Eight!

If there is one thing I have learned about juice fasting, it’s that it is definitely a day-by-day endeavor. Each day is another opportunity to push through and stick with it, another chance to bring myself a day closer to my goal. Not one day “flies by.” This entire experience has taught me so much about self-discipline and accomplishment, mainly that success does not come without some serious dedication. It’s a lesson I’ve been wanting to learn for so long, and I feel like I am finally getting it. I am actually more drawn to challenges now than I ever was because the sense of achievement is so empowering. The more I do, the more I do, if you catch my drift.

I think the most frustrating part of this is logging on to my favorite foodblogs and seeing new recipes. My usual self would be darting into the kitchen ripping out jars of flours and calculating the proper substitutions, eager to try the latest and greatest in vegan fare. Initially my plan was to stop checking altogether, but I found I really missed that community, so I’ve just been printing the recipes out and saving them for when this is complete.

Today was a pretty heavy day, emotionally. Mum and I went to visit Nana, which in itself is taxing because she is totally non-compliant. The situation is exacerbated by the reality of where she is- a nursing home full of people on their way out of this life, who are spending their final years wasting away in wheelchairs parked in sterile hallways while nurses brisk up and down with rubber-soled shoes and patronizing tones. Where is the dignity in living that way? I suppose I just have a different attitude towards life and death. I think that the end of a person’s life should be spent in comfort, surrounded by loved ones, at home. If it strips the flesh from my bones, I will never allow my parents that lifestyle. Even seeing Nana there weighs on me, but I am not in a position to do anything about it right now. I do what I can- visit with the kids, bring yummy food, flowers, and good conversation (albeit a bit circular).

So, what keeps me afloat? Racing prospects, of course! It dawned on me today that I am running one of the happiest 5ks in the country in just two weeks- The Color Run! I also blocked out my training schedule for the Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2 marathon in September and 10k in October. I’m still not 100% certain on the logistics of the 10k- it’s in Brooklyn, and it starts at 7:30, but there is a 2-day health and fitness expo that I definitely don’t want to miss. It’s going to take some planning, but I’m determined!

Here’s to setting goals and achieving more than you ever thought possible-

Leave a Reply

