Day Twelve: Vacation and Saying Goodbye.

My summer vacation has officially begun! Although I’m not going to have a whole lot of time to enjoy the vacation part of it just yet- the next two days are all about party prepping. Grocery shopping, finishing the pennant banner, prepping some of the food, and throwing together other assorted decorations are all on the list. Jack’s little stool came today, and it’s absolutely adorable- so classic. I can’t wait to see his face on Sunday- he’s such a social little boy, and I think he’s going to love being around so many great people.

I’m so thankful to be winding down this fast. I am itching to get back into the kitchen- today I baked a batch of cookies just to feel that culinary connection again. I haven’t cooked a meal in almost two weeks, and I feel stifled. There are a million and one recipes running through my head- the trouble is narrowing it down to just a handful for the week!

Tonight was bittersweet- Brittany is leaving for Minneapolis on Saturday, and while I’m truly excited for this wonderful new adventure, saying goodbye is really tough. We’ve known each other for almost ten years, grew up in the same town, and spent a lot of time getting into wonderful trouble together. For almost a year now she and I have been living in the same houses we lived in as teenagers, just over a mile apart, and it’s been like old times- without the epic nonsense. Tonight we went for a drink at – where else?- Isaac’s, and I got a chance to wish her well and tell her how proud and happy I am for her.

It was great to catch up with old friends at our favorite local bar and give Britt a happy sendoff. I can’t wait to hear all about her new life out West, and if all goes well I will be seeing her in Cincinnati next May for the Flying Pig Marathon!

On that note, it’s time for some sleep. 6 miles in the AM and a yoga cool down- a late night will do me no favors!

Leave a Reply

