Wednesday.

I did not greet the morning hours with my best face today. After missing his flight on Monday, my brother wound up driving out to visit. He and Taylor arrived late last night, and we all stayed up talking until well past midnight. I stayed up even later doing homework and blog stuff, so when my alarm went off at 7:30 I was totally unprepared for the world.

Luckily, there was family (and coffee) to get me hustling. There is little to compare to waking up knowing my brothers are both down in the kitchen.

We don’t often get to spend time together because of our differing schedules, so when it does happen it’s really special.

Unfortunately, it also means that I am tempted to throw any and all plans out the window in favor of doing absolutely nothing. This morning, it was yoga that was getting the axe. It just wasn’t speaking to me, and right up until 9 o’clock I was teetering until finally I pushed myself to get in the car and go.

Today’s class was small- 3 other people and myself, plus Kathleen, our inspirational instructor. I love classes with Kathleen- she challenges and encourages her class without overworking us, and always offers modifications for less/more advanced yogis. I was feeling soooo lazy while setting up my mat, and for a moment I actually considered just hanging out in child’s pose for the entire class.

Leave it to Kathleen to guide me out of the fog. She talks a lot during her classes, but it is always insightful, clearly weaving the link between your practice and its supporting philosophies. This morning she took a few minutes to talk about our bodies as mere vessels for our spiritual selves, the divine within us. It sounds a bit flowery, but what I took away from it was the reaffirmation that I am in control of my body- it is mine, and it is limitless in its abilities so long as I remain open to its possibilities.

It was one of my best practices. Isn’t that always the way? I broke a sweat, attempted some more advanced poses that up until now have really intimidated me, and I succeeded in 10 minutes of blissful meditation. Meditating has always been a huge challenge for me- clearing my mind seemed so impossible at first, but as I practice more it has become an important part of maintaining balance in my life. It is a common misconception that yoga is athletic. While it certainly employs a physical element, it is in fact a discipline- a branch of Hindu philosophy. Eventually I am going to write a post about yoga and how it has affected my life and my outlook, but for now let me just say that, despite having been adopted by every gym and studio in America, yoga is in fact a spiritual practice.

Speaking of spiritual and the divine…

Om, indeed. Sweet melon, chopped figs, and fresh lemon balm tossed together to create an oasis in my mouth. I am ashamed proud to say I ate the entire thing. Oh, and this too…

Sauteed zucchini with scallions and teeny tomatoes, and tri-color quinoa with swiss chard. That’s balance.

Getting myself to yoga this morning was the key to setting a positive course for my entire day. More than that, it gave me some time to connect with my body, my heart, and my mind, and think a little bit about this transitional stage of my life. There is so much going on in and around me, it’s often overwhelming and thrilling and difficult to maintain. Nevertheless, I feel myself growing. I feel so open to things- ready to receive all that the universe is sending my way, and I am absolutely shivering with anticipation.

But first, I need to get through the next week. My second and final summer session is winding down, and the only things standing between me and two weeks of vacation are an Italian module, two Astronomy quizzes, three final exams, a Power Point project…and half of my math course. And I’m going away this weekend to visit family in Connecticut.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

