Another Market Morning.

I woke up this morning feeling like I was missing something. Aside from the weight of fatigue, my brain had that odd spacious feeling that comes when you know you’ve forgotten something. As I stirred our oatmeal trying to remember what it was I had forgotten, a realization struck me: today is Saturday. Like, Wrightstown Farmer’s Market Saturday. I had completely forgotten, since last weekend we had been away and I’ve been somewhat out of sorts this week. Needless to say, breakfast was a brief affair as we hurried to get out the door.

This week’s load was pretty light, since I did a big grocery trip on Tuesday while Luis was here. We had been eating our way through our fridge before leaving for Connecticut, so a re-stock was needed earlier in the week. We ended up coming home with:

  • 2 pints of raspberries ($3)
  • 2 pints of blackberries ($3)
  • 2 green peppers ($1.50)
  • a 1/4 peck of peaches ($4)
  • 1/2 dozen cider doughnuts ($5)
  • 1 loaf of flax-grain bread ($6)
  • 1 giant eggplant ($2)
  • 1 lb. of swiss chard ($2.50)

Not bad for $28, considering the bread, berries, and doughnuts were all major splurges. That bread is the best bread I have ever tasted- and it’s super healthy, to boot! Totally worth the high price tag, but even so, it’s a treat for us. It’s best used for meals in which it will be the star of the show- say, breakfast, slathered with chia jam, or lunch, topped with avocado and sprouts. We buy it from the Great Harvest stand at the market, but their actual location is right here in Newtown. Win!

These berries are outrageous. They actually did not have flats today due to a catastrophic berry shortage, so I only went for 2 pints of each. So sweet and bursting with flavor- and I wasn’t the only one who thought so. Somehow they kept disappearing between photographs…

Things got really crazy with the doughnuts. We don’t ever buy things like that unless it’s a special occasion (like going to the beach!), but this week has been so much fun between classes ending and the Grange Fair going on. I was too happy to resist.

I suppose that if this is our idea of “a big treat,” we’re doing alright. On our way out we passed my favorite bean tent. I had to pass on their gorgeous field peas, as we were working with a budget, but I did manage to pick up this guy…

The picture does not do it justice. This is a BIG eggplant. I already have a crisper full of Shady Brook ‘plants, but I am cooking up some yummy eggplant parm tomorrow to bring to my grandmother, and something tells me I’ll find myself eggplant-less when I’m through. The stuff just cooks down!

Jack actually felt differently about the field peas, and helped himself to one while I was picking out my eggplant. Thankfully, the nice ladies at the stand did not make him bail hay as payment, and let him take the chewed-up bean home free of charge.

At least he’s eating veggies. Now it’s nap time (read: Mommy vs. Jack). Later we’re heading back to the Grange Fair (I seriously can’t get enough- post coming soon) to meet Maurya and send Jack off on more rides.

À bientôt!

2 thoughts on “Another Market Morning.

  1. Pingback: The Grange Fair 2012. « Being Elizabeth

  2. Pingback: U-Pick and Herb-y Melon. « Being Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

