Farm Market.

Another Saturday, another market morning!

 

I look forward to Saturday mornings all week. It shouldn’t surprise anyone when I say I love grocery shopping, especially at markets. I love all of the colors and smells, and each week is a surprise- I am familiar with what is in season at which times during the year, but different farms grow different varieties of vegetables, and it’s fun to see what they’re offering.

And with each passing week, I watch Jack become more and more engaged with what we’re doing. He helps me pick out vegetables, dances to the music, and waves to the vendors he is familiar with. I am so looking forward to when Carolyn is walking and can participate more.

On this particular morning, we took our market trip to a whole other level.

Maurya, Julius, Moms, and my Mum met us at the market! Even more fun than going by ourselves is going with friends and family. The kids were so excited to see everyone, and it was exciting introducing them to something I enjoy so much. It also didn’t hurt to bring more business to the local farmers!

We all walked around browsing the different stands and passing the kids around. Carolyn is just aching to walk! I keep hearing that I’ll be so much busier when she’s on her feet, because she’s such a little explorer. While I’m sure that’s true, I’m more excited about her gaining mobility than anything. I know she gets so frustrated being stuck on the ground and limited to crawling around, so it’ll be exciting when she finally gets her legs.

They always have a little band playing (mostly country music), so there is live music while you browse around. Again, this is very much a community event. Today was especially fun because I got a fresh look at the market. I’m never in a rush when I’m there, but I don’t ever stop at the booths where I know I won’t buy anything- soaps and jewelry, for example. I just don’t have the budget for it, and so spending time looking at intricately handcrafted necklaces or freshly made soaps while chasing Jack around and bouncing Carolyn is never in my plans. I loved having the opportunity to familiarize myself with the other vendors at the market today- booths that I might not ever buy from, but that still offer a wonderful product. I even stopped to taste outrageously overpriced jam! I am on a mission to recreate the “Tipsy Peach” spread at home.

Lately, I have been having the worst time battling some feelings of loneliness. I have just found that I don’t yet have a solid network that fulfills this side of me- and though I know that it won’t be that way forever (things have already begun to come together- just look at this blog!), it can still feel a little…tough. So having my friends and my mother join me this morning was special. My only regret?

Not buying any Solebury Orchards apple juice. I’ve been thinking about it all day- rookie mistake!

So let’s take a look at today’s haul:

Half of this flat is bagged and frozen already. I am wondering how long all of my berries will last me- my guess is they won’t even make it until Christmas, but I’m going to try my best to stretch them out.

We brought home:

  • 1 bunch of red russian kale
  • 1 monster bunch of basil
  • 2 red onions
  • 2 sweet onions
  • 3 peppers- yellow, orange, and red
  • 2 zucchini
  • 2 yellow squash
  • 2 heirloom tomatoes
  • 1/4 peck of peaches

I also stopped by Great Harvest for a loaf of pumpernickel bread. Maurya, her Mum, and Julius have all fallen under the Great Harvest spell, as well.

I have big plans for these gorgeous tomatoes…

…and this crazy lookin’ basil. I have never seen basil this out of control (in the best way). Honestly, I wasn’t even completely sure what it was until I got close enough to smell it. For $3, it was a steal.

After the Wrightstown market, we made a stop over to Milk House Farm to visit the lamas.

Maurya and her Mum had never been, and I thought that they’d enjoy both the peaceful landscape and the organic produce and dairy. They sell guinea fowl eggs- smaller and with a fuller flavor than regular chicken eggs. They’re also much lower in cholesterol and higher in omega-3’s, and the guinea fowl are totally free-range, so the eggs come from happy animals. Definitely worth a splurge every once in a while!

Finally, we made one last stop at Birchwood Farms. It had been a while since I had last visited here- 98% of what they sell is dairy-based, and while the cows live happy, healthy lives at the farm, I’m still not thrilled with the way consuming dairy makes me feel. I have been meaning to stop in and get Jack some fresh yogurt, so it worked out well that we went. We even got to look at their gorgeous brown dairy cows!

Jack calls them ‘dows,’ and I’m in no rush to correct him.

Honestly, this morning was the highlight of my week. I was in a lonely place for a few days, but recently I have been spending a lot more time with my close friends, and it has made a huge difference. I even feel more inspired to create- I have been cooking up a storm (recipes to come, I promise).

I have a feeling that this Fall is going to be one of those unforgettable seasons. It’s already looking so, so good. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Farm Market.

  1. Pingback: The Pantry Challenge. « Being Elizabeth

  2. Pingback: Saturday: Still Sick. « Being Elizabeth

  3. Pingback: Breakfast! « Being Elizabeth

  4. Pingback: Weekends. « Being Elizabeth

  5. Pingback: Juice Fast: Day 6, and A Silkscreening Project. « Being Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

