Breakfast!

It’s been a laaazy morning. I dropped my car off last night at our mechanic’s to have a few things looked at today, and I think knowing we aren’t going anywhere today helped us really slow down and enjoy ourselves. Jack slept until 8, and when he did wake up all he wanted to do was lounge around on the floor of his room. Carolyn is asleep as we speak. Like I said, lazy- which, in the right dosage, can be very healthy.

But lazy doesn’t have to mean boring! Even though I’m still in my pajamas, I managed to pull it together enough to get a little wild in the kitchen…

Oh yes. This morning was also a pancake morning- buckwheat-PB2-chocolate-chip, to be exact.

NOM. Now that is breakfast.

Which brings me to my next point: how we typically begin our day, meal-wise. Breakfast in our house is usually pretty speedy, either because I cook something quickly or because I do some prep the night before. I love to bake, but don’t often make breakfast-y baked goods because it is too easy to snack on them throughout the day. If I bake 12 muffins, I will somehow find a way to eat 6-8 of them by dinnertime. So unnecessary, so things like scones and biscotti are reserved for holidays and special occasions.

I did whip up some basic oat squares a few weeks ago for my Artisana review, but they were pretty uneventful without toppings- no sweetener, loaded with flax and chia seeds. They were a bit more acceptable slathered in chia jam and walnut butter.

We are actually big into toast, usually accompanied by fruit, and with good reason- it’s quick, easy, versatile, and delicious when done right.

Ezekiel bread topped with macadamia and coconut butters, with peaches and blueberries on the side. This is a really good example of a weekday breakfast when I just can’t bring myself to do anything more than pop a few slices of bread in the toaster. Bonus: Jack l-o-v-e-s toast.

We actually eat a lot of oatmeal- it’s perfect in the morning because it’s healthy, filling, and it pretty much cooks itself aside from a quick stir here and there. Also, it’s totally customizable, so we all just pick out our own toppings.

Great example: oatmeal (it’s in there somewhere, I promise!), topped with a splash of almond milk, raspberries, blackberries, figs, peaches, a drizzle of maple syrup, and hempseeds. Easy and delicious fuel for my morning. Sometimes I’ll prep in the night before, overnight-oats-style, simplifying my morning even further. Muesli is also a speedy alternative.

The best part about oatmeal, aside from its endless possibilities, is its nutritional profile. One serving (1/2 cup dry) of rolled oats contains 32 grams of complex carbs, providing you with sustained energy throughout the beginning of your day. Oatmeal also contains 5 grams of dietary fiber and 7 grams of protein. It is a great source of thiamin, phosphorous, manganese, and iron, and if you pair it with a serving of almond milk, you’ll get a good dose of calcium as well. Steel-cut oats are even more nutritionally dense, but a bit more expensive, as well. We save steel-cut for Sundays. PSA: the nutrition information does not apply to quick-cooking oats, which have been steam-cooked prior to packaging and stripped of much of their nutritional value.

Of course, there is a nutritional top-dog: whole oat groats. For a food-nerd like me, they’re most exciting oatmeal because of their nutrient density. I had only ever heard of them, since stores around my area don’t stock them, so they were a bit mythological until last week when I was in New York and stopped in to the UWS Whole Foods. I was so stoked to see these hanging out in the bulk section for $2 a pound!

The grains are so similar to brown rice or farro, it’s interesting that they all cook up in slightly different ways. It is especially neat to think that this is oatmeal, and the flakes that you buy in the cardboard tubes in the store is a modification of oatmeal. This is the real deal.

I tossed a cup of them in with three cups of water and let it cook for about an hour, watching closely. I definitely wouldn’t expect to have these for breakfast on a busy morning, but they’re great for slow, easy Saturdays! I actually have an idea I am toying with, in the interest of speeding up the cooking time, but I have to actually implement it and see if it is successful.

Gorgeous! They were really chewy, moreso than steel-cut oats, but for me that was part of the appeal.

Topped with almond milk, peaches, raw honey, and cinnamon. Jack was actually not sold on these, which is fine by me- I think he prefers the creamier consistency of rolled oats. I am so okay with not having to share my oat groats 😉

We’re looking forward to a fun weekend- farmer’s market tomorrow with Grammy, followed by more apple picking up at Solebury Orchards with Maurya. Sunday is CSA pickup and oodles of playground time– weather.com says 74° and sunny, finally! We’ll be taking full advantage of that.

Bon week-end!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast!

  1. Pingback: Peach Cobbler Instant Oat Groats « Being Elizabeth

  2. Good day I am so happy I found your blog page, I really
    found you by accident, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a remarkable post and a
    all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

