Weekends.

Another weekend closer to Fall! At least, that’s how I’ve been looking at it- I’m ready to see that thermometer drop out of the 80’s! Fall is juuust around the corner, and we’re already busting out the thermals and puffy vests in preparation. This weekend was much cooler than it’s been in months, so that was a welcome change- we were able to get outside and enjoy the weather instead of moping around the house in the air conditioning.

Saturday morning, Mum and I met Maurya and Julius at the farmer’s market. There was a truck and firefighters from the Lingohocken Fire Company in the parking lot, and they were taking kids up into the truck and explaining the different equipment to them. Jack was all over it.

But only if Mommy got in, too- he was actually really apprehensive about getting in the truck alone. Not that I minded. I am 24 years old, and it is still so cool to sit in a fire truck!

The Lingohocken Fire Company is a local fire company that is comprised solely of volunteer firefighters. Growing up, we always went to the Lingohocken pancake breakfasts, and I actually had a friend whose father is still a volunteer firefighter. It is amazing to me, the goodness of people- an entire fire company built on the backs of volunteers. I know that volunteer fire companies aren’t uncommon, but it still makes me so proud of where I live, knowing that there is that kind of community here.

Just another thing that I love seeing Jack and Carolyn experience- the feeling of being involved in a real community.

After the market, we dropped my Mum off at home and went up to Solebury Orchards for more apple picking. I just can’t get enough! Jack and I have been tearing through apples- between the two of us, we’ve eaten 8 pounds of apples since last weekend. Yum!

Of course it was wonderful to get out in the orchard in the sun and fresh air. Solebury Orchards is particularly nice because they have fresh cider ice and apple cider doughnuts, and Jack has begun to expect some of each whenever we go picking.

I can’t wait to watch him and Carolyn grow up doing these things. I like to think about when they’re older, 5 or 6, and they’ll have the awareness to be excited about Fall weekends picking apples and, soon, pumpkins! Watching them grow up is the most beautiful thing, and it’s made even more incredible watching it happen in such a beautiful place. I really believe the world was made for children, it is so achingly wondrous.

 

Saturday night I ended up meeting Joy for some catch-up and writer-talk after the kids went to bed. It was so refreshing to connect with her. Being at Bucks this semester has been great in so many ways- I feel challenged by my classes, I have a great schedule, and I love everything I’m studying. But it’s also a little sad- I miss my friends from Creative Writing. I miss that kinship. Seeing Joy on Saturday brought that back, and it was sorely needed.

I came home and spent some time setting up the Brio trains to surprise Jack on Sunday morning. He has been having such a great time playing with them, and has learned how to put them together, but he still struggles with constructing a continuous and more complicated track. I thought waking up to a full setup on Sunday morning might be fun for him.

I was right. He and Boo-zilla spent most of the morning pushing Brio trains around in the sunroom.

In fact, he’s still playing with them today, although the track is looking a little hap-hazard. That’s my project tonight- reconstruction! We’re definitely looking forward to a visit from Uncle James.

Sunday was also CSA pickup, which I’ll admit I had been looking forward to all week. It’s so exciting to see what veggies they’ll have for pickup, and I am loving sitting down on Sunday night and planning out meals for the week based off of what we receive!

This week’s pickup: a watermelon (!), 4 ears of corn, 6 tomatoes, 1 cucumber, 6 potatoes, 3 onions, 1 squash, 1 eggplant, 4 leeks, 4 peppers, 1 bunch of chard, and a handful of green beans. The eggplant, tomatoes, onion, and chard all have a home in an eggplant “parm” tonight, and the peppers are destined to join the other half of last week’s nappa cabbage in a stir fry. I have no idea what to do with more leeks- I’m over potato leek soup for a little while, so I’ll have to get creative.

I have a few tings to share with you this week, including a salad recipe, an oatmeal tutorial, and a Manduka bag review. I am also attending a screening of Joe Cross’ “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” on Wednesday night, followed by a Q&A with Joe Cross himself. “Excited” doesn’t even come close to how I’m feeling.

And now, I’m off to make vegan eggplant parm. Ta!

 

7 thoughts on “Weekends.

  1. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great post.

Leave a Reply

