Two-Week Recap!

Whew! Where have I been? It’s been a long few weeks- to be honest, I have been writing some intensely taxing material, and in doing so, I flooded away my desire to do much else. I spent some time ruminating and feeling sorry for myself, and then I got back with it (with some help from a few indispensable friends). So here’s what I’ve been up to that doesn’t involve sad poetry or trigonometry (or both?)…

Two Fridays ago, Maurya and I took the kids to Peace Valley Park and hung out on Lake Galena! Gorgeoussss!

That Saturday, my Mum and I took the kids to Newtown’s Market Day. I hadn’t been to Market Day in years, so it was refreshing to walk around and check out the different booths.

 

Book sale in front of the library!

Fabulous fall decor everywhere!

A booth selling little pewter figures. I so badly wish I had gotten some for J & C!

The Milk House stand, of course.

Rag rugs!

A gorgeous old loom in action!

Jack and I took a ride on the horse-drawn cart. These are the same gorgeous Belgians that were at the Grange Fair!

We had such a wonderful time! Jack was going crazy for all of the activity, and he absolutely loved the wagon ride. Doing things like this with him and Carolyn have filled my life with so much fun- I look forward to different seasons for different reasons now, because I know that there’s always something to do with J & C. Children make it so easy to love life 🙂

Sunday was, of course, CSA pickup. Included: two acorn squash, one head of cauliflower, four ears of corn, five scallions, four turnips, five carrots, a big bag of wax beans, two tomatoes, two giant beets, and three peppers. All of this has been eaten, save for the beets.

Last week I also had some fun growing my own alfalfa sprouts. I have another jar and seed packet, so I’m planning on doing a full write-up of the process (so easy), but for now I’ll give you a preview of the result:

These are so yummy stuffed inside a pita with a great glob of hummus.

This past weekend, Mum and I actually drove up to Connecticut! She had a cocktail reunion party in Norwalk, and since my night was free, the kids and I went along for the ride. We made a stop over to visit Yaya and baby Kathleen…

I know, that lead-in was a bit misleading, but it was actually really peaceful. The weather was perfect and the grounds were empty, so we were able to just sit with our memories of Yaya and appreciate the beautiful day.

We also spent some time visiting family friends and old neighbors of my grandparents. It was a short but lovely trip, and I’m looking forward to returning.

And then, of course, there was Sunday- my birthday! As I get older (although, I’m still very young), my birthday becomes less about what I do and more about who I am with. I spent most of the day with my Mum and the kids, and it was perfect!

Breakfast at C’est la Vie! Hands down, the best bakery in the area. After breakfast, I took the kids to the park up the street, and then out to Small World Coffee over in Princeton. I love to coffee shop hop, so it was really special to bounce around to my favorite cafes all day long.

Maurya, Julius, and Moms stopped by later with Babycakes cupcakes! Maurya and Julius were coming home from New York Comic-Con, and they blew me away with baked goods from my favorite bakery.

Honestly, it was one of the best birthdays I have ever had. I feel so fortunate to have such an amazing group of friends, and a supportive and inspiring family.

Next week, Mum and I are driving out to Ohio to visit R.S., and we’re stopping in Bloomsburg for dinner with James, so that’s when the family celebrations are going down. My brothers and I are all in October (James is the 2nd and R.S. is the 11th), but this year we were all in different cities and couldn’t get together on any of the birthdays, so next week is standing in as all of our birthdays, and we’ll be able to celebrate together. There has been talk of a traveling birthday cake…but more on that later 😉

 

Sunday was also CSA pickup (again!). In this week’s share: five leeks, snap peas, four peppers, a head of green cabbage, six potatoes, three jalapenos, one each of spaghetti, acorn, and butternut squash, a big bag of wax beans, a head of Romanesco broccoli, and an ear of fresh popcorn. I am super stoked about the popcorn- that’s on the menu for tomorrow afternoon.

Busy, busy! I have been so swamped with schoolwork, for a while there it felt as though I was drowning in it. This week is a bit more manageable, but only because I pulled a really late night staying up getting some work done to turn in early. It took a lot of the pressure off for this week, but now it’s back on with a heap of assignments due next Monday and Tuesday. I’m looking forward to heading west next week and seeing my brothers, and have been thinking about that each time I feel overwhelmed. I’m going to try to keep the energy up on here too, if only because I have a ton of fun things to share- just as soon as I carve out enough time. As for right now, it’s bedtime for this sleepy Momma!

Leave a Reply

