Enter: Springtime!

DANG! It’s been a while since I checked in here- oh, surprise! Truthfully, I’ve bee so busy with school and life that I just haven’t wanted to spend any more time in front of my computer than I already have to for school. However, the kids and I have been having all kinds of wonderful adventures lately, and I thought I’d pop in and let you in on the fun. I’m going to try to be in here at least once a week, especially since spring is waiting in the eaves and our CSA will be starting soon 🙂

So what have we been up to? A few words to sum it up: Starbucks, school, poetry, skinny pants, Lululemon, New York, JUICE, carrots, uncles, hibachi, walking, doughnuts, Moroccan ginger chicken, library story time, live bands, clothing swap, playground. WARNING: Photo-crazy.

We had a big snow on February 9th, and Jack had a great time digging around with his little shovel while Mommy photographed everything to death.

IMG_9382

IMG_9396

IMG_9402

Carolyn stayed inside with my Mum- she wasn’t walking yet, and it was a little too cold to have her just hanging out in my arms.

IMG_9404

IMG_9415

Later that day, we went over to M.’s for her engagement party!!! The kids had a great time- there were so many other children running around, all about the same age, so they spent the whole party playing and running around. Afterwards, I dropped the kids off at home with Luis, and went back out to meet M and co. for hibachi at Ooka.

IMG_9427

IMG_9431

IMG_9436

IMG_9439

Vegetarian hibachi special- totally delicious, but I woke up the next morning with a terrible breakout all over my face. I suspect MSG or something with a similar gross-factor. I was honestly having so much fun, and the restaurant is a nicer restaurant, I just didn’t think to ask if they used anything strange in their sauces. Rookie mistake!

The biggest development in our house has been Carolyn’s walking. It was so sudden, one day she was almost exclusively crawling, and the next day, full-on walking! No slow transition, no stumbling steps for a few weeks…just, BAM, mobile. I’m so excited for her, I know the independence is something she really needed.

We’ve been going with some friends to a story hour at a local library. It’s really nice, because I have been taking Carolyn by herself. All of the kids are her age- there aren’t any older kids for Jack to play with- and the activities and toys are geared more towards littler children, so it works out well. Jack gets to go to the Barnes and Noble music and story time, which is much busier and designed for older toddlers.

IMG_9465

IMG_9466

We’ve also been in and out of New York plenty- J & C love going into the city, so I’m trying to make that happen at least twice a month.

IMG_9525

IMG_9538

600004_698112230885_609998082_n

66114_698114326685_2136042824_n

IMG_9566

Also, I picked up a new pair of TOMS from the Spring collection. I am so in love with them! I usually stick to basic colors and canvas, but the flowers on these are embroidered, so they’re really lovely looking.

IMG_9585

Lately, when we’ve been in New York, the kids have hung out uptown with Luis and Eli, and I’ve been free to go downtown to meet friends and eat dinner with two hands 🙂 This trip, Patty and I did the usual Babycakes run before heading to Atlas Cafe.

IMG_9587

Love, love Babycakes 🙂

IMG_9590

Atlas Cafe, home of the greatest menu ever.

IMG_9593

Veggie “egg” rolls!

IMG_9595

Moroccan ginger un-chicken (and rice)- one of the greatest foods in the world.

IMG_9600

Patty bought me a cake for Valentine’s Day. It was so delicious. She is so amazing.

Valentine’s Day was spent with the kids, driving out to the Cinnamon Snail kitchen for some food from their V-Day menu!

IMG_9485

Rosemary walnut crusted tofu with smoked tea roasted root vegetables, whole grain French mustard marinated kale, and roasted chestnut bread pudding. Topped with port wine balsamic reduction, smoked onion marmalade, and fried sage leaves. NOM.

IMG_9479

Handmade chocolates: meyer lemon, passionfruit cream filled, smoked Alaskan salted caramel, Ethiopian Berbere spiced ganache.

IMG_9475

Doughnuts O.o

Speaking of the Snail, I had the wonderful opportunity to see Adam Sobel speak at the NYC Vegetarian Food festival this year! I scored VIP weekend tickets to the festival, along with a ticket to the after party to benefit Mercy for Animals!

IMG_9671

The Snail, front and center. It’s a NYC vegan institution!

IMG_9741

Adam giving a casual but incredibly insightful talk on living more sustainably and working to constantly refine our habits and actions to benefit the planet.

IMG_9730

Bag o’ stuff!

IMG_9727

Vegan spicy veggie mango avocado sushi with black rice.

IMG_9711

The Sweet & Sara marshmallow booth, PACKED- who’s surprised?

IMG_9704

IMG_9701

IMG_9691

Vegan gyros.

IMG_9682

IMG_9754

Going home with plenty to keep me busy on the train 🙂

IMG_9762

IMG_9761

IMG_9760

IMG_9759

IMG_9758

IMG_9757

IMG_9756

I actually ended up meeting an old friend of mine from NY after the foo festival, and finally got to see her adorable apartment! We got dinner at Cafe Blossom, which was just a few blocks from her- I had been meaning to go, but didn’t really want to try to bring the kids, so this was perfect!

IMG_9750

Raw rolls with coconut sticks and sweet potato wraps!

IMG_9751

We split the entree special- marinated bbq tempeh over potato salad with tempeh bacon, and salsa topped with avocado and sunflower sprouts. Outrageous.

IMG_9753

Key lime pie with cashew whipped cream! I’m pretty sure this was raw, as well. Again, delicious!

We ended up leaving the restaurant and heading to her friend’s apartment for a clothing swap! I was by myself, and it was such a treat to hang out with a bunch of girls and bottles of wine, swapping old clothes and laughing. Totally awesome.

Some quick food stuff:

IMG_9868

We’ve been making our own almond milk- hurrah! No more creepy thickeners and subtle preservatives, this stuff is truly all-natural.

IMG_9865

Our new go-to smoothie: banana, power greens, frozen raspberries and mango, carrots, topped with cacao powder and almond milk (and protein powder, for Momma). YUM.

IMG_9862

The latest food obsession: carrot sticks. The kids are ALL OVER these, and to be honest, it’s a great snack to have on hand. They’re so sweet and delicious! Today we paired them with hummus 🙂

IMG_9861

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of seeing a good friend of mine perform with her band at a local restaurant. She was so awesome!

IMG_9623

IMG_9625

So proud to know her 🙂

I have been doing the March: Run Every Day Challenge, and so far, so good! I have been really bad at logging my workouts- whoops- but at least they’re happening. I have been biking to school a fair amount. So. awesome. It’s three miles each way, so if I only bike there for one class, it’s still six miles. I’m feeling really good, and that’s enough to keep me moving!

FINALLY, we’ve been hitting up the park a fair amount. Yesterday we kept it local, but it was still exciting because it was Carolyn’s first time as a walking lady at the playground! The last time we were there, she was just crawling, and I didn’t want her rolling around in the wood chips. Yesterday she got to run around the playground, climb, and go down the slides. Woohoo!

IMG_9802

IMG_9808

The kids and I jumped on the Zulily TOMS sale! For the original price of my boots, I got the boots AND classics for the kids. Score!

IMG_9809

IMG_9820

IMG_9824

IMG_9825

IMG_9829

IMG_9842

IMG_9856

IMG_9859

So…..that’s a solid gloss-over of our goings-on!  I wish I could have gotten more into detail about the Food Festival and Adam’s talk. I’m going to try to get in here more often, so as to properly capture all of these amazing things that have been happening. In the meantime, thanks for sticking with me! Now we’re off to the lake to do a loop and nosh on Jules. Looking forward to Springgggg!!!!!

One thought on “Enter: Springtime!

  1. Pingback: Grocery Shopping! | Being Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

