A Day at the Lake!

Aha! So, where were we?

IMG_0280

Oh, yes- Lake Galena! 🙂 I am pretty obsessed with Peace Valley Park- it’s a huge lake surrounded by woods and trails. It’s a great place to bring the kids to get them near water (hello, peaceful), but I’ve come here to run or bike, and that’s been wonderful too. I’m looking forward to Sunday afternoons here with the kids with bikes and picnics and trail running and good friends….the weather has begun to warm, and it’s putting all kinds of ideas in my head.

IMG_0254

IMG_0257

IMG_0272

IMG_0274

IMG_0269

IMG_0277

IMG_0282

It was super windy for the first few minutes that we were there, so we hung out at a table near the car eating leftover Babycakes to see if it would ease up.

IMG_0266

IMG_0264

IMG_0265

IMG_0262

We ended up walking a little ways around the Lake. Jack is obsessed with being outside, and I didn’t have the heart to pack him back into the car without letting him stretch his legs a bit.

IMG_0286

IMG_0284

While we were walking, we found a little clearing off of the path….

IMG_0288

IMG_0290

…A TEEPEE! I have no idea where it came from, or if it’s just always there, but the path that led to the clearing was pretty worn, so I’m assuming it’s a regular fixture. Jack was really skeptical of it at first, but after I sat inside with him he was alright. He’s been really into sticks lately, and so this ended up being a cool concept for him. (warning: photo-crazy section ahead!)

IMG_0291

 

IMG_0309

IMG_0307

IMG_0302

IMG_0301

IMG_0300

IMG_0299

IMG_0297

IMG_0296

IMG_0294

IMG_0292

IMG_0335

IMG_0333

IMG_0315

IMG_0327

IMG_0326

IMG_0323

IMG_0317

IMG_0316

IMG_0313

It was such a gorgeous day, and we were having so much fun, I couldn’t stop taking pictures 😡 I was hoping we’d be able to get back there tomorrow, since it’s supposed to be another gorgeous day, but I have to go to the Rodin Museum for a school paper (but with a good friend, followed by food, so it’s still fancy-fun).

IMG_0338

Tree-hugger. 🙂 I am so glad that Jack and Carolyn are developing a love of the outdoors and of nature. Some of my favorite moments with them have been when we’ve gone to a park or a playground and they’ve been able to run around, let loose, and engage their incredibly curious natures. I think the most exciting part is watching them discover the world around them. I hope it helps them cultivate a love and respect for nature that will stay with them. The world we live in it just too amazing not to let it sweep you away in wonder.

IMG_0343

IMG_0368

IMG_0362

IMG_0358

IMG_0356

IMG_0353

IMG_0352

IMG_0350

IMG_0349

IMG_0348

IMG_0345

I’ll stop there, because I’m afraid I’m on overload with the pictures, but I have another post to type up involving a new (healthy!) smoothie spot that just opened up near us, along with another grocery shopping rundown, just because. Hope everyone’s having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

