Weekend.

Another great weekend 🙂 This seems to be a trend! Please excuse the cell phone photos scattered throughout- my camera batteries died on Wednesday and I got supr lazy about buying new ones 😡

Friday afternoon I got a text from Patty asking if she could come for a last-minute surprise visit (yes!). James and Emily also arrived from Bloomsburg, so we all had a really exciting afternoon. I had intended to take the kids on a long walk in the morning, but the time got away from us and then James showed up, so that was that. We spent most of the day making….

249139_715374157845_1995938034_n

…crêpes! Veganomicon has a wonderful basic crêpe recipe, and I thought they’d be fun to munch on, so Friday morning I whipped up a double batch of batter and left it on the counter, and every once in a while we’d whip up five or six crêpes and fill them will different things. We did some asparagus and guinea fowl eggs, and I did sauteed baby chard, but of course the winner was homemade raspberry vanilla chia jam and shaved dark chocolate 😉

968783_715396313445_901978235_n

James and Emily hung out for a while before heading outside to unload the car. Jack serenaded us all with some tunes- he has taken to asking for a pick whenever he plays, which is just so funny and wonderful.

970223_715396338395_1348256611_n

I can’t wait to get him in guitar lessons next summer, I think he’ll really enjoy it!

Emily and I ended up laying on a blanket in the front yard while James unloaded the car- whoops! 😉

970596_715382675775_1655053492_n

941675_715383464195_1311686266_n

New flats! My old ones were so gross, they smelled awful and there were holes in the sides so my feet brushed the ground whenever I wore them. I was going to take a picture to show a comparison, but upon reflection I decided it was just too icky. The new ones have some major improvements, including a sturdier wedge and elastic along the top for a better fit. In love!

Everything I do has taken on a whole new level of requiescence now that classes have ended; even my free time has taken on a whole new charm, because I know that there isn’t a paper waiting for me around the corner, or a book I should be reading for next week. I can enjoy an hour in the yard with the kids fully. I know that by the time August rolls around, I’ll be itching to get back to school, but for now I’m feeling just fine 🙂 This summer is really something special-

971952_715409741535_1771204106_n

…especially with this beautiful wedding to look forward to! I have three friends getting married this year, and first out of the gate is an old friend of mine from high school. I got my invitation on Friday- so cute! It’s beautifully hand-stamped, and I love the buck/deer pair- it’s so them, woodsy and natural and lovely 🙂 I’m actually going to the wedding with my best friend from high school, and since her boyfriend can’t come, we’re going as dates! We’re also running the Color Run together the day after. Yeeeaaahhh!

Patty got in later in the day with two Maoz falafel salad bowls.

264483_715447999865_1247660838_n

I love her.

We got home with enough time for a glass of wine (or three) and a big batch of brownies. Patty is vegan, soy-free, gluten-free, and nut/seed-free, so getting together has been such an educational experience for me. We take gluten-free options when they’re available, but the kids and I are not totally gluten-free, and we have no issues with nuts, seeds, or organic soy. Patty and I have always bonded over our love of food and cooking, and now when we get together I always feel challenged (in an exciting way!) to come up with new ways of preparing the dishes we love. Not always an issue, because fruits and veggies are all vegan, but it can be tricky with baked goods- especially when the host hasn’t been to the grocery store in a while… 😡 I ended up making a really basic tray of brownies with coconut oil, gluten-free flour, cacao powder, and some other brownie basics. They were delicious! Fudgy and cake-y all at the same time!

21304_715526941665_341517142_n

We ended up crumbling some on top of our breakfast bowls- gf overnight oats with rice milk, banana, cinnamon, and fresh vanilla, topped with crumbled brownie, raspberry chia jam, strawberries, blackberries, cherries, whipped coconut cream, and buckwheat groats.945810_715527076395_1092883627_n

It was one of the best breakfasts I’ve had in a long time, totally rich and decadent 🙂

After breakfast, I took Patty to the Wrightstown Farmers Market. She hadn’t ever been, and I had been dying to take her!

IMG_2093

IMG_2089

This guy was selling greenhouse-grown full-sized tomato plants! I was so tempted, but I want to see how my seedlings do before I invest in a full-sized plant.

IMG_2090

Young leeks and onions! I was also tempted to pick up some of these, but I totally didn’t need them at all, so they were bypassed. Maybe next week (although I doubt it, because CSA!!!!)

IMG_2091

Spring turnips! Young kohlrabi!

IMG_2092

The Blooming Glen radishes always look like art 🙂 You can see them from the parking lot!

IMG_2094

They had the young chef and owner from Cafe Blue Moose come to demonstrate a few dishes. I am dying to check that place out, especially since they have a ton of vegan and gluten-free options!

The Milk House stand at the market wasn’t stocking strawberries, and Patty and I were on a mission, so we went to the farm to try to track some down.

IMG_2096

We were victorious 🙂 2 quarts for me and the kids, 1 for Patty, and none left at Milk House. We cleaned them out! Truth time:

IMG_2121

IMG_2123

They were the most delicious strawberries I have ever tasted. I say was, because they are GONE, all of them, because we have a strawberry problem. It is highly probable that during the writing of the rest of this post, I will have at one point saved my draft and driven over there to get more.

IMG_2117

All was not lost at the farmers market, however- collards, green garlic, shallots, asparagus, baby chard, dinosaur kale, and arugula!

Every Saturday the kids go over to my friend’s Mum’s house to play and give me some time to write/read. It was a great opportunity to spend some uninterrupted girl time with Patty, so we dropped J & C off and picked up a pizza from Jules. Patty hasn’t been able to find any comparable vegan pizza in New York, so she always gets one when she comes to visit:

IMG_2106

Medium whole wheat with asparagus, cherry tomatoes, poblano and yellow peppers, red onions, and Daiya cheese 🙂

We took our pizza over to Afton Lake to sit on the Starbucks porch and watch the geese. It was a little overcast, but still really lovely.

IMG_2105

Look what we found:

IMG_2103

IMG_2102

A goose sitting on her nest! Check out that egg! We tried our best to sit as far away as possible so we wouldn’t disturb her. It was so neat! Of course my first reaction was, I wish Jack and Carolyn were here!

IMG_2109

Oh, wait, who’s that guy in the green shorts?? ;D Ally’s Mum took the kids down to the other side of the lake to feed the ducks, and we spotted them just as we finished up our pizza and tea!

Patty had to go back to New York, so we drove her to the train station and gave her lots of hugs and kisses and begged her to return as soon as she could 🙂

The rest of our day went something like this:

IMG_2113

IMG_2130

IMG_2129

923135_715594371535_1932365161_n

IMG_2126

We got suuuper lazy and crashed on the sleepover mattress in Jack’s room with a bowl of strawberries, a movie, and a bar of chocolate. Zonk. Megan stopped in to lay on the floor for a few minutes, and then she and Emily left to go to her apartment. James and Luis both worked until eleven, so the kids and I had a really quiet, peaceful night 🙂

Sunday was more of the same- aside from a trip to the grocery store, we didn’t leave the house and didn’t want to. I had originally planned on going to Yoga on the Steps in the morning, but for once I was deterred by the rain. It was mostly the drive- if it had been closer, I think I would have been more inclined to just wing it, but I was sleepy and I couldn’t bring myself to drive down, hunt for parking, drag my stuff out, and then do yoga on wet concrete. I gave myself some much-needed permission to be lazy and opt out, and then compensated with a run around my ‘hood 🙂

We did have a fun family dinner last night- roasted veggie and bulgur salad, grilled asparagus, and marinated tempeh.

IMG_2135

IMG_2137

IMG_2136

Jack and Carolyn don’t like the grilled veggie salad, which is so bizarre since it’s everyone’s favorite thing ever, but I won’t make them eat something the genuinely don’t like, so they got asparagus and lentils instead 🙂

Dinner was followed by a science show on the porch. James is amazingly curious, inventive, and intelligent, so he has a passion for experimenting with the laws of physics and chemical interactions. His visits usually include an appearance of Non-Newtonian fluid, exploding champagne glasses, and attempts at hydrogen production. Last night, it was dry ice vs. water and table syrup.

IMG_2138

IMG_2145

IMG_2144

IMG_2146

IMG_2147

Dry ice is extremely dangerous, so the kids were limited to watching through the sun room doors, but it was still way fun. James produced a continuous flow of foamy little bubbles (table syrup) as well as a steady stream of thick white fog/vapor (plain water). Neato! James is the coolest. Jack and Carolyn (and Momy!) are super excited to have him and Emily around 🙂

IMG_2151

IMG_2152

IMG_2153

All in all, a nice weekend together. I find with my brothers home, I am more reluctant to leave the house. We tend to just stay home and spend time together, and I think that’s okay 🙂 Looking forward to seeing my writing workshop on Wednesday night, and then first CSA pickup on Thursday! New running shoes coming my way at the end of the week, since the ones I’m in right now are way worn out and likely causing the mild pain in my right knee.

It’s shaping up to be a calm and easy summer- just what I’ve been needing! I won’t lie, I’m missing classes (read: Chris) terribly, but I keep reminding myself that missing something that is going to happen again in September is only serving to distract me from the time I have right now to spend doing other fun things. Like cooking, and reading- the two things I am about to do….right now. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

