CSA, Week 6.

Week 6? Week 8? I’m losing count- according to the blog, it’s week 6, but the U-pick board in the barn says week 8. Not that it really matters 🙂 It’s been such a joy being a member of this CSA- I really look forward to my pickup each week, and have been thrilled with the quality and variety of veggies we’ve received. I’m over the moon!

IMG_3454

L to R: collards, 2 heads of lettuce, 4 beets, 3 heads of red cabbage, 1 bunch dill, 2 bunches of basil, 1 bunch sage, 1 bunch cilantro, 1 bunch spicy oregano, 3 eggplant, 4 long hot peppers, 2 jalepeno peppers, 4 purple peppers, 2 quarts of wax beans, 1 bunch sage, 1 big bunch stinging nettle, 4 pounds summer squash, 2 fennel bulbs, 4 pounds of cukes, and 1 bunch of scallions.

Also, flowers 🙂

IMG_3461

U-pick is definitely my favorite part of pickup. It can get hot in the field, and you get dirty and sweaty, but there is something so satisfying about being out there, picking your own vegetables and feeling really connected to the world. I’m not sure if I’ve explained the U-pick before, and I know not every CSA does it. We pick our share up from inside the barn, and on the wall there is a chalkboard with the week’s U-pick share. I usually snap a picture with my phone, so while I’m out in the field I can remember what I’m doing, but they also provide scrap paper and pens.

IMG_1530

Eric came with us to check out the farm and help pick beans! It was so fun to show him around and share the experience with him!

I am loving all the purple this week:

IMG_3456

As I was taking this picture, I realized I probably should have picked up some purple basil to keep with the purple theme, but I went for the Thai instead to keep things fresh 🙂

IMG_3458

We picked allllll these beans! It was really helpful to have someone else picking with me.

IMG_3457

More cucumbers, which is okay by me- I can’t get enough! I’ve been eating them sliced and tossed in vinegar and pink salt, on their own, or as an alternative to crackers and chips in dip. Bonus: the kids love them!

IMG_3459

I also clipped a big bunch of nettle, because NETTLE! Unfortunately, I forgot my gardening gloves, so my hands were a little itchy from the stingers. I rubbed plantain leaves on them for a few minutes, and now they’re all sorted out.

I have to say, I was most excited about the flowers 🙂 I usually buy flowers when I go to Trader Joe’s, but there are special because Jack helped me pick them. They really brighten up the living room!

IMG_3465

IMG_3466

Other than CSA pickup, today was relatively low-key. Luis was off of work, so I tried to be as productive as possible. I managed clearing a sink full of dishes, THREE loads of laundry, and a 30-minute morning yoga session, followed by a trip to the playground to let the kids let off some steam. They needed it!

Lunch was my new favorite thing:

IMG_1521

Chickpea salad! Just like egg salad, except more delicious and nutritious! And cheaper, because dried chickpeas are only $1.69/lb!

I may or may not have been eating this for the past three days…obsessed. I love piling it on top of toasted Flax Oatbran bread with whole grain dijon, chard, and avocado, but I only do a half-sandwich so I don’t go overboard with the bread (calorically speaking). Paired with chunky tomato bisque and oyster crackers:

IMG_1519

The perfect lunch for a lazy Thursday!

Dinner tonight is all Luis- fried potato cakes with salsa, avocado, and freshly made tortillas! Yum 🙂

IMG_1541

IMG_1540

I’m off to yoga at eight, followed by a quick drink with a friend, so I’m working my way through a salad. Fried food and asanas just don’t mix, but it’s good to know they’ll be waiting for me when I get home! 😀

This weekend is a little nuts- tomorrow is Barre3 in the afternoon followed by Color Run packet pickup, and seeing another friend in the evening. Saturday morning we’ll be at the farmer’s market, and then I’m off to a wedding! One of my friends from high school is getting married, and I am so excited, I can’t wait to see her and everyone at the wedding, and to celebrate her new life with her soon-to-be husband 🙂 Sunday I’m up early, early, EARLY to be in Philly for the Color Run with some friends, and then yoga in the evening to wind down. Monday I have NO plans, and that is FINE with me 🙂 Here’s to an action-packed weekend! I’ll be in to report on my adventures, and will definitely do a full Color Run race recap. Last year was phenomenal, and I’m looking forward to another great race his year 🙂

IMG_2544

Leave a Reply

